“Forced Convalescence” by Bright Eyes out now on Dead Oceans.

“Forced Convalescence” features Conor Oberst (vocal), Nathaniel Walcott (piano, mellotron, synthesizers, harpsichord, choir arrangement), Mike Mogis (electric guitar), Flea (bass), Jon Theodore (drums, percussion), Miwi La Lupa (vocals) and Kip Skitter (percussion). The Choir are Jason McGee (conductor), James Connor, Quishima Dixon, Natalie Ganther, Anthony Johnson, Edward Lawson, Jennifer Lee, Sharetta Morgan-Harmon and Marquee Perkins. It is produced by Bright Eyes, engineered by Michael Harris and Steve Churchyard – assisted by Chris Cerullo and Chandler Harrod. Mixing by Mike Mogis. Mastering by Bob Ludwig. Written by Conor Oberst and Nathaniel Walcott.

Forced convalescence and bed rest
Staring contest
With the ceiling and my feet
Was momentarily conscious
Of the backflips
I’ve been doing in my sleep
I’m not afraid of the future
Have to suffer and repeat
I tend to agree
What happens will be
Pain of my own making
Cut short by eternity

Now I’ve recovered completely
Life is easy
Hula-hooping around the sun
The calendar’s little boxes
All these presents
Get to open every one
I’ll be prepared for the winter
And the summer
And beyond
Just keep tagging along
Until the feeling is gone
Amazed by the haystack
Needle to oblivion

In a daze
In the doorway
I stood crying for what was
In a trance
In a taxi
Just keep driving please don’t stop
Out of the neighborhood, the multiverse

Iron and rust

Went out of town for the weekend
With my children
Built sandcastles in the sun
Catastrophizing my birthday
Turning forty
Ending up like everyone
There’s no escaping the housework
Or the bank clerk
Or the priest
They’re waiting for me
In my Egyptian sheets
The Seroquel’s working
It’s fighting my fantasies

In the dark
At a distance
I see everything at once
Feel the wind
Through the window
And I’m overcome with love
Inter-dimensional, no obstacles
Mountains and dust